Author Topic: Certificate of Achievement- useful or no?  (Read 3115 times)

socaso

• Pencil Stache
Certificate of Achievement- useful or no?
« on: June 03, 2014, 11:56:48 AM »
I have a Bachelor's in an arts field and although I have worked in that field the jobs are typically not well paid and frankly I'd just like a change. I was contemplating getting a second Bachelor's in Business Administration because I am interested in fields like Human Resources or Medical Administration and while researching a the business administration I found a local community college offering certificates of achievement in a number of fields including business administration. The pros are that the certificates are very reasonable, about $3-4k with the program costs and the cost of books considered and the time frame is very reasonable, about 18 months. The con is I don't know if this is an effective strategy to change careers or if these certificates are better utilized by people who already work in an organization and want to advance within the organization. Has anyone ever gotten one and did it help you change careers?

GuitarStv

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Certificate of Achievement- useful or no?
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2014, 12:10:14 PM »
Not useful unless your prospective employer is very specifically looking for that certificate.  A certificate of achievement in business administration doesn't mean anything.  A BA in the field is a known commodity.  I wouldn't hire someone with a certificate of achievement (why didn't they get the proper education being the main question running through my head).

rugorak

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2014, 12:18:17 PM »
I would agree and say probably not very useful. Honestly I would say reach out to your extended network and see if you can find someone either in a field you want to get into or at a company you would want to work for and just ask them. Most people are more than happy to give advice to friends and even friends of friends.