Author Topic: Case study: Short risky FIRE or Secure 'long' FIRE ?  (Read 7618 times)

tomcat

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Case study: Short risky FIRE or Secure 'long' FIRE ?
« on: September 17, 2013, 10:15:23 PM »
Dear MMM Forum,

I am quite new to the MMM family, but I have been following the blog for awhile and I would like to expose my case so that you help me with a decision on my career path. Basically, it boils down to continue being a very well paid IT consultant with a certain job insecurity, or accept a very stable job with more responsibility and better long term prospects but lower salary. All that, keeping in mind that my target is achieving FI as soon as possible, mustachianism and badassity certainly help a lot there!. Since it’s difficult to find people in the same situation that I am in, I thought it would be a good idea to ask you for some advice. I am not an English native speaker, so I apologise for my English mistakes.

I am an early 30’s IT consultant working in Holland. I have been consulting for the same company for the last 6 years, but the budget for the project I am in ends in around 4 years. At that point, I will have to job hunt for a new project. Currently, there is an opening in my company for a long term position that matches my expertise. However, I am considering if I should accept or not this position if they offer it to me. I feel I have a very good chance of being offered the position.

In summary, these are the differences I can think of for the new position:

Advantages:
  • Long term job security, since it would be a long term position in a government related industry.
  • More responsibilities leading a small team.
  • An almost guaranteed pension scheme upon ‘regular’ retirement.
  • Better job opportunities to climb the corporate ladder, better long term prospects.

Disadvantages
  • Less salary. Basically, I anticipate I would take me 10 years before I start making what I make at the moment.