Author Topic: Case Study: poor school teacher...  (Read 26821 times)

kmb501

• Bristles
Case Study: poor school teacher...
« on: January 31, 2015, 12:18:18 PM »
Hi Mustachians,

Most of my family subscribes to the ideal of frugality and savings and have retired at a pretty decent age. I on the other hand have yet to blossom. In fact, I manage to spend almost all of my income every month. Before you chide me for my lack of frugality, let me explain. I'm a recent college graduate with a master's in Education, but I have yet to find a job. I've been substitute teaching to make ends meet and keep my apartment. What should I do if I want to save money? I was thinking about moving back in with my relatives, but they do not live close to where I work, and I don't know what my chances would be looking for work in another state. I would like a job that does more than keep the bills paid, but that's all this one does.

Here's a brief list of my expenses:

Rent = $500 per month
Internet = $40 per month
Phone = $50 per month
Car Insurance = $90 per month
Food = $100 per month
Gas and transportation = $150 per month

Grand Total = $930

I make about $900-$1200 dollars at my sub job, and I put in 4-6 hours per week as a volunteer teacher at the community center.

I don't really know how to solve this problem. I would like to cut my expenses as much as possible, but really the only thing I can do is look for another job. Unfortunately, that might be a bit more complicated than I first thought. I'm not very good with kids, even though I have all of the teacher training; I was recently diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder, so my lack of social connection may be more difficult to overcome than I first assumed. 
« Last Edit: February 23, 2015, 07:18:13 AM by kmb501 »

mustachianteacher

• Stubble
Re: poor school teacher...
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2015, 12:55:33 PM »