Author Topic: CASE STUDY: Newbie, No Savings, Huge SLs, Where to Start?  (Read 17137 times)

intlstacher

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
CASE STUDY: Newbie, No Savings, Huge SLs, Where to Start?
« on: April 10, 2015, 02:22:23 PM »
I found MMM about three weeks ago. I've been an avid reader but am no where near catching up, but I've already learned so much and am starting to be very mindful of all purchases. I am not sure if FIRE is going to be a reality for us since we are starting a little late, but who knows. If anything it would be nice to retire around 50, so maybe another 20-22yrs of work for me? Anyway, here is our situation. I'm a bit scared to post but I really need help and advice. I had a fellow teacher at my school tell me that I am the new 21st century teacher nightmare....

Life Situation:
Married, filing joint, qualifies for Foreign Earned Income Exclusion
Me, 27yrs old, DH 33 years old, no kids
Currently living overseas in Saudi Arabia. I am an overseas teacher. We get pretty lucrative contracts (compared to teachers in the US). DH has been a trailing spouse/house husband for the last 3 years. He was going to school online to finish his BA. He went to school late, but better late than never right? He just landed his first job post-degree at the school where I work. He is considered a local hire, so not quite the same benefits as me or salary as me, but it’s going to put us in a much better place than we have been the last three years on a single income.
We’ve been in very bad places financially. We moved overseas because it was a dream of mine, but also because we knew that it would put us in a great situation to save and pay down debt. You will see that we have a lot, but where we started three years ago was much worse! Neither of us came from families that were good influences when it came to finances so we’ve had to teach ourselves a lot and learn from bad mistakes.
Our salaries and most expenses are in Saudi Riyals, but I will put amounts in dollars for ease.