Author Topic: Case Study: New City, New Jobs... New House?  (Read 2652 times)

stealmystapler

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Case Study: New City, New Jobs... New House?
« on: January 03, 2014, 04:52:14 PM »
Hello! I’ve been lurking and soaking in the wisdom of this site since I was a graduate student in South Carolina. After working at a real job there for a year, I took a great opportunity (essentially a dream job position) to work in the cultural resources field for New York State last July. My husband found a job last month, and now we’re re-examining where we are, how we can improve – and some options that are beginning to present themselves. We appreciate your help!

Income: 52,000 (hers) 31,000 (his). Monthly, this looks to shake out at about $4300 after insurance, HSA, retirement, taxes, etc. is taken out. (His paychecks are still new, and are settling in as things like retirement begin to be taken out)

Assets:
   Checking Accounts (Joint and Personal): $495
   Savings Accounts: $1723 (Includes joint, personal, part of our e-fund, and set-asides for irregular expenses like auto insurance)
   Mortgage Match Savings: $375 (We signed up for this matching program for first time buyers, but are now income-ineligible. We plan to continue with the savings plan and take advantage of the classes offered)
   Betterment (E-fund): $3425
   457(b): $1825 (Just hers – he is starting his up this month. Still very small!)
   Ally Savings (for house): $6,153
   TOTAL: $13,996      

Liabilities:
   Credit Card at 11%: $495 (atypical; from Christmas travel, paying off this month)
   Car Loan at 0%: $3,500 (only vehicle, nearly paid off and no regrets!)
   Student Loan 1 @ 2.8%: $2,034
   Student Loan 2 @ 5%: $2,464
   Student Loan 3 @ 5%: $2,760
   Student Loans (several) @ 6.8%: $34,615
   Student Loans (several) @ 6.8%: $22,114
   TOTAL: $67,982