Author Topic: Case study - My budget  (Read 8856 times)

Giro

• Pencil Stache
Case study - My budget
« on: December 31, 2014, 09:33:43 AM »
I'm new and looking for any/all advice. 

I'm 40 years old.  I want to retire in 5 years.  (might be a stretch but I'm going to give it a try).  I'm a computer engineer and working as a contractor for the DoD.  My spouse and I maintain separate finances.  My DH is quite frugal but not really too interested in retiring early.  He plans to retire at 59.  He is retired military and currently working as a govt civilian.  He will be eligible for a 2nd pension at 59. 

Here's my monthly budget

Electricity - 150
Natural gas - 80
Water and sewer - 40
Waste removal - 20
Property taxes - 125
Car license, maintanance fund - 65
gas for car - 200
groceries - 150
dining out - 100
health club - 15
clothing, hair, hba - 200
cable - 185
cell phone - 165
daughter's private elem. tuition - 339
day care - 225
twins textbooks - 80
pet supplies - 50

I need to track my expenses because I am NOT spending this.  I am spending at least 800 more than this each month.  Husband pays all insurance - health, life, auto, home.  Husband buys most groceries.  We split property taxes and home maintenance bills.

The private school for my youngest is non-negotiable.  My ex pays me $520 a month for this.  The twins are in college and their tuition is covered via a 529 that I saved for them.  I pay their textbooks. 

Does anything really stand out?  I must be too close because I don't see how I can cut much of anything. 

I appreciate all responses.

« Last Edit: December 31, 2014, 09:36:23 AM by Giro »

BarkyardBQ

• Pencil Stache
Re: Case study - My budget
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2014, 09:49:18 AM »
Welcome.

It helps to know your income, any investments including retirement contributions and balance.

First target is always your cell phone bill. Check out Ting, Republic Wireless, and my personal choice Page Plus.