Author Topic: Case Study: Low income noob needs direction  (Read 20942 times)

Tenormadness

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Case Study: Low income noob needs direction
« on: March 29, 2015, 11:56:12 AM »
Hello world.

I'm a single college grad, age 26, looking to get my finances in order. I found this site and started reading, quickly realizing that there's plenty room for improvement. My main concern is my low income, but I'll let the numbers speak for themselves. I work at a state liquor store in Alabama. The job provides health and dental insurance, retirement, and a meager salary. I live with 2 others, so some expenses are split 3 ways. Basically I'm wondering how these mustachian principles work at the lower end of the salary scale.

Income

Salary   $1,952

Pre-tax deductions
Insurance    $18
Retirement   $118

Taxes
Federal        $105
State           $70
Soc. Sec.    $120
Medicare      $28

AGI = $1,493

Expenses

Rent                    $391
Car                      $100
Credit card interest fees   $120
Eating out           $230
Electricity            $70
Entertainment     $83
Gas                     $90
Groceries            $140
Internet              $20
Medicine             $10
Phone                 $100
Water/Sewer       $26
Beer/Alcohol       $70
Misc                    $6

Total = $1,456

Assets

I don't think I have any...

Liabilities

Credit cards
Card 1 Balance: $2,298 APR: 15.24%
Card 2 Balance: $888 APR: 11.99%
Card 3 Balance: $4,269 APR: 22.9%

Student loans

Loan 1: Subsidized  $1,478 APR: 6%
Loan 2: Subsidized  $412    APR: 4.5%
Loan 3: Subsidized  $5,508 APR: 3.4%
Loan 4: Subsidized  $2,800 APR: 3.4%
Loan 5: Unsubsidized  $22,237 APR: 6.8%

Currently I'm in deferment due to income, so I'm not paying anything.

Total = $39,882.46