Author Topic: Case Study: Living out of a Suitcase and Halfway There  (Read 5884 times)

RetireAbroadAt35

• Bristles
Case Study: Living out of a Suitcase and Halfway There
« on: March 17, 2014, 09:01:44 PM »
I work in IT with a well-paying job at a gigantocorp.  The money is nice but spending all my time in an office on a computer (60+ hours a week) is not my idea of a good time.  My goal is to attain a degree of financial independence doing the only thing I know how - trading my time for salary and investing in index funds.   I am not the typical corporate worker drone and I recently discovered that many of my goals are quite Mustachian (though some of my habits could use some work).

I have been employed full-time for a bit over a decade, since finishing my undergrad.  Around 2008 I became serious about saving but with no real goal in mind.  I few years later I took a long sabbatical, half of which spent abroad.  It was great. 

The single most important thing I learned is that time is the greatest luxury.  I want my time back.  I'd take my 3% draw-down and spend my time in 2-3 locations per year (often abroad for both adventure and cost savings).  I have lived, worked and travelled in many parts of the world and am confident I would like to make that part of my future strategy.  I want to reach my goal as soon as I can manage, and then be free to work contracts or pursue hobbies and earn or not earn as whimsy dictates.

I am currently single, no kids.  No particular plans in that regard but who knows what may happen.

Savings Balances - 14x projected retirement expenses distributed as follows:
  • 401(k) - 53%
  • Roth IRA - 2%
  • Stocks/Bonds (taxable) - 42%
  • Cash - 3%.  I'm dollar-cost averaging most of this into stocks/bonds.

Debt - $0.  I paid off my student loans early and never borrowed a dime for anything else.  Credit card paid off monthly.

Figures below are monthly.

Investments deducted from pay:
  • 401k - Maxed, plus 3% company match