Author Topic: Case study: Just graduated. What should I invest in?  (Read 3820 times)

cautiouslyunconventional

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Case study: Just graduated. What should I invest in?
« on: April 04, 2015, 02:13:16 PM »
I graduated from college and got a full-time job three months ago. I'm interested in FI, but not necessarily RE - I'd probably use the financial security and free time to try starting a business, or businesses. I don't have any debt and I think I'm budgeting pretty well, but all my assets are in savings accounts. I'll qualify for the company 401k soon, so I was hoping you all could advise me on asset allocation and how much to put into pre-tax accounts. I also have some questions about home ownership.

Life Situation:

My partner and I live together. I pay for most things and he does most of the housework, but our finances (assets/savings) are separate. He's working on starting a couple businesses, one of which I'm also involved in. I don't want to get into his too much here, though, since it's not a significant source of income yet. He expects to earn a lot more in the long-term, though, whether it's from growing this business or something else.

I like the company I'm at, and it seems stable, but I'm unsure how long I can keep doing this job in this city - people in my field change jobs often, and this company is less than a decade old, so I'm not certain how long this job will last. There are other jobs in my city and field, but not many as good as this one, so if I left or lost this job, I would seriously consider moving. Alternately, I might try to get a job where I work remote, or try starting a business and only seek a new job if it fails.

In FI plans, I'm mainly concerned with providing for myself. My partner has some interest in it, but he's got his own career, and we haven't been together long enough to be comfortable combining finances to that extent.