Author Topic: Case Study - Just a other guy...  (Read 3647 times)

MatheusP

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Case Study - Just a other guy...
« on: October 14, 2015, 08:04:39 AM »
Hello, I’ve been reading the blog and the forum for a while now, and I recently got to a point where I kind of feel lost with my financial life. Thanks for the time to read this. =)
Oh, and I’ll put the income in Reais that is the local coin and in parenthesis I’ll put the equivalent in Dollar.

Life Situation: I’m 23, about to graduate in computer engineering, I live in Brazil, no kids, a girlfriend that I pretend to marry, debt free ( Scholarship in my college ), I work as a programmer analyst. 

Gross Salary/Wages: R$22K ($5.8K) annual salary

Pre-tax deductions: Here in Brazil we have INSS as tax, i currently pay R$108, 26($27, 83) each month around 8%, well at least so far… The more you gain the more you pay, = (.

Living Expenses: R$1000($257, 07) this includes Gasoline, Lunch, Girlfriend, Dinner. I always eat out in restaurants for lunch and dinner, that’s because I work 08h00 till 18h00, and then I go to college 19h00 till 22h30, no time to eat at home.

Okay, I manage to save about 53% of my salary monthly; this money is separated at three categories, my future apartment, a new computer, and a Financial Life Independency Found. I finally got about R$17K($4,37)  saved for those things.
   The problem in, everybody that I know say that I’m losing my life saving money and not spending it, even my girlfriend says that sometimes… The last month I really slipped on my expends, like three times more, with stuff I did not want, to please people that I don’t like, with money I don’t have… All that just to fit in those “normal” age rules: party, drink, go out, nice cloths.