Author Topic: Case Study - I would love your advice  (Read 14101 times)

Accidental Fire

• Stubble
    • Sweet designs for your outside lifestyle
Case Study - I would love your advice
« on: February 02, 2016, 06:22:56 PM »
(sorry about the double post - my browser locked up on me!)

So I'm relatively new to MMM, but after reading every single blog post and portions of the forum I realize I've been practicing the majority of his advice on my own for the past 20+ years.  I'd love the advice of the wonderful mustachian community here to see how close I am to "retirement" - whatever that is :)

Life Situation: Single, 45 yrs old, no dependents, live in Northern Virginia outside DC (the expensive part of Virginia)

Pre-tax deductions: I'm a federal government employee, so I have the TSP (similar to an IRA), I contribute the max which is now $18,000 per year. The government matches 5%

Other Ordinary Income:
none

Qualified Dividends & Long Term Capital Gains: I have quite a lot invested in Vanguard Index funds (and a few others) and made 8,000 in dividends for 2015

Rental Income, Actual Expenses, and Depreciation:
none

Adjusted Gross Income: Last year it was

Taxes:

Current expenses: Provide breakdown and relevant details.
  First off I have no debt except for my mortgage.    I pay my credit card off every month and spend way less than I make.  Monthly utilities ~ $170 (gas, electric, internet, water) I have lots of outdoor hobbies and am a competitive athlete (cycling and climbing), so I do spend money on competitions and travel (monthly ~$100)  In all, my average annual spending is probably around $27,000... but I definitely have years where it's more like 30K when I take a big foreign trip (I'm working on climbing the seven summits)

Assets: My total investments are dollars. Approximately  in non-retirement investments (mostly Vanguard Index funds)   

Liabilities: Mortgage -

« Last Edit: April 06, 2018, 05:18:05 PM by Accidental Fire »

pbkmaine

• Walrus Stache