Author Topic: CASE STUDY-I can't pay my debt-save emergency fund-invest in stocks all at once!  (Read 3277 times)

thatbrowncat

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hi there!

I’m needing a little help here. This post is lengthy, but do bear with me!

*** Our currency is the Philippine Peso, but I converted the amount to US Dollar since most of the people here are from the states.

*** $1 = P 44.84 (As of October 15, 2014)

Background Information

I’m 22 years old and I live in the Philippines. I’m a nurse by profession, but I chose not to practice it. I work as an Administrative Assistant in the Social Welfare Department of our government. It’s my 1st job and I’ve been an AA for 1 year and 10 months. I work from 8 AM - 5 PM, Mondays to Fridays.

In my teens, I taught myself how to draw and how to use adobe photoshop. This has helped me greatly, since I used what I learned to generate income separate from my work salary.

I still live with my mom. My dad died when I was 6 years old , and my mom has been the breadwinner ever since. Mom pays for almost everything. Our maids’ salaries, school tuition fees; weekly allowance; and household expenditures. My mom is the Regional Director of a National Government Agency. people think we’re rich….. but we’re not (financially). Mom is still paying of her credit card debt (around $ 11, 150.75) incurred while I was still studying in college.

We’re not extravagant. We don’t have a car. We don’t go out. We don’t party. I still wear some of my clothes 6 years ago. I rarely buy new clothes. My mom is actually lucky in raffle draws. Once, she won million pesos! But that amount didn’t last in her hands. I have no idea how she spent her money, but I knew she bought jewelry and renovated the house. She also invested in a fishcage business (which she eventually sold).

Even though I love my mom, I promised myself that I would learn how to be financially literate (this led me to scourge the net for financial advice, and I discovered MMM because of this!)