Author Topic: Case study: How to survive job hunting (when I'm already poor)?  (Read 5937 times)

Urikohime

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello all. I'm hoping you can help me straighten out the tangle of my life a bit.

I was a teacher. My boss told me I was in danger of being fired for "political" reasons. I was already miserable, so decided to quit. I apparently vastly overestimated my marketablity-- I'm still looking for a job, more than a year later.

Income: Because I quit, I haven't even been getting Unemployment. I had about $10,000 in the bank, to start.  My ex pays $1,280/m in child support. I have been taking as many random babysitting/childcare type gigs as I can, but this varies greatly.

Expenses: $1,150 mortgage
                                   30 car insurance
                                   52 internet
                                   50 water
                                   20 to 220 electricity ($50 avg.)
                                   80 phone
                                   40 to 100 gas
                                 300 groceries

This adds up to about $1,682/m.

We (I have 2 school age kids) also spend on entertainment, clothes, etc., but not that much. We're a cheap entertainment, wear it till it falls apart kind of family. Our other BIG expense is the family dog. She's already cost me over $2,000 in the first half of 2014 (food, vet, supplies, etc.). We also have a community pool membership ($354/yr).

Assets: Bought my 2009 car with cash. Also, I guess it's sort of an asset that ex pays the kids' medical insurance. That's it.

Liabilities: Except for my mortgage, I am debt free!

Question: Ugh. Where do I start?

As I mentioned, I'm not getting Unemployment. I'm also not getting any other government aid ("Welfare"). I haven't applied because I don't like the thought of taking a handout when I don't really need it (but it's coming to that point).