Author Topic: Case Study - How am I doing at 24?  (Read 7983 times)

j250432

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Case Study - How am I doing at 24?
« on: December 21, 2014, 12:36:49 PM »
Hi Everyone,

Brand new to forum, as I have been studying and reading up on everything possible the last month.

I am 24 years old, and trying to manage my money and build a better financial future. Overall, I am just looking for guidance, as I am a newbie and just getting my feet wet.

Income: $47K a year

Current expenses: $1200/month worth of living expenses (Boston isnt the cheapest)
                                  $300/month car payment (12K left on the car)
                                  $300/month student loans (have $15K left to go)
                                  $200/month toward the 401K

Assets:  $5K in the 401K
              $5200 in mutual funds (MTSMX)
              $5300 in banks monkey market acct

Liabilities:  $15K in student loans (6.8% interest)
                  $12K in a car loan (1.9% interest)

My question(s) are: should I focus on paying off the students loans ASAP? I know some people consider it “good debt,” but it is still debt.  Should I take the 5K out of my personal banks monkey market account and just devote it toward the student loans?  I know it is best to have 6 months of emergency expenses saved up, however.

Should I invest in another mutual fund, or should I just continue to contribute toward the current own one I own? I know that once you hit 10K in this particular index fund the expense ratio drops, so that is something to consider.

Am I doing anything wrong that anyone else can point out for me?

Thanks for the help!

kpd905

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Case Study - How am I doing at 24?
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2014, 12:42:57 PM »
Student loans at 6.8% are definitely not good debt.  Pay them off as quickly as you can.

Does your employer offer a match on the 401k?  And if so, are you getting the full match with your $200/month?