Author Topic: Case Study - Help Newlyweds Start Right  (Read 9983 times)

ttd

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Case Study - Help Newlyweds Start Right
« on: January 13, 2014, 10:09:14 PM »
First off, sorry if this is not the correct use of the label "case study," but it seemed appropriate.

So I've been diving into the world of MMM for about 2 weeks. I've read all of the "important" posts and have slowly been reading all of them from the beginning. I'm not quite done yet, but the more I read, the more confused I get about how and where to invest. My wife and I live pretty frugally, and now I need to know what the hell to do with this money!

Background and Goals: Our simple goal is to become 1/2-Mustachian (1/2-retired) as quickly as possible. My wife and I got married 5 months ago (Early twenties). I've been working at my job for three months, and she for seven. She loves her job and will absolutely want to work it until retirement age; it's her calling. I, however, tolerate my job and would jump ship if a better offer came around, but I fear I'm just not the 9-5 grind type of guy. I would love to "retire" as soon as I can.

The good news, of course, is that she will most likely retire at normal age. So we'll have that steady pay check/health and benefits to aid us when I do "retire."

Income: Me - Around 47,000. Her - 17,500. I have huge advancement opportunities if I stick around. My wife is currently a paid intern, and it will move to full time position (its absolute, no question about it) in 4 months. Her pay should double.

My passion/freelance, which I want to "retire" into, I think will bring in about 5,000 this year. (It would obviously bring in more if I wasn't working full time). I think I would also enjoy land lording but let's not get ahead of ourselves.

Liabilities: None. *Does a little dance*