Author Topic: Case Study: Film Freelance at the Bottom Rung (for now!)  (Read 2762 times)

cazio

• Stubble
Case Study: Film Freelance at the Bottom Rung (for now!)
« on: October 30, 2016, 04:51:00 PM »
Hello! I’m a new Mustachian, but (luckily) I’ve been keeping healthier habits than most when it comes to financial planning. My job in the film industry is at the bottom of the ladder and not a typical salary job (more on that later) but I’m so happy to have found this forum and blog. Since I got my job, I’ve been feeling kind of unchallenged in terms of the future, but FI is my new life and career goal, and I’m confident I can make it happen!

However, I feel stuck right now. I know paying off my student loan debt is my first priority, but I'm trying to find a way to pay that off even faster than my current calculations of 12-13 months.

Disclaimer: I’m still new to all of this and quite frankly, adult life itself, so most of this is speculation in terms of what I think I need.

Current FI Goal: Retirement by age 32 (2027)
Estimated Retirement Spending: 20-30k per year

Current Employment Stats:

Expected Total Base Pay Income per year (with current job): $39,000
   Weekly Rate: $586 after taxes*
My job is not salary, it is based on the length of the movie I’m working on. I’m expected to be working until at least Dec. 2017, but we will have weeks off for hiatus/vacation that I will not be paid for. However, there will also be weeks where I work a 6th day, which will give me a lot of extra pay. For the yearly calculations, I’m estimating 50 weeks of pay.

Expected Base Pay Income After Tax: $29,295
Expected Reimbursements per year: $3,000-$5,000

Current Investment/Retirement Stats:

Pension Plan (from college part time job, including employer contribution): ~$1850 - currently in the process of rolling over to a Vanguard IRA
Roth IRA (Betterment): $350
Betterment Safety Net: $400
Betterment Investment Acct: $200

Debt: