Author Topic: Case Study - Car Help  (Read 5350 times)

Beck

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Case Study - Car Help
« on: November 21, 2014, 01:02:54 PM »
So I am new to the MMM world, but I am learning, so don't roast me too much...

My wife and I bought a 2012 Honda Pilot, but we have since seen the error of our ways.  We are looking to sell it and pay it off (hopefully we don't take a bath).  I drive a 1993 7.3 liter F-250 Diesel truck as well (I know, I know, but to be fair it was given to me for free).

So, basically, my wife and I need a car or two and we have no cash to spend.  I have a scooter and a bike that I can ride to work on most days, but my commute is pretty long (one step at a time).  I have looked on Craigslist and for around $10K I can buy two cars - A Prius and CRV or something along those lines and save money monthly and get the cars paid off faster.

I am looking for advice, thoughts and ideas.  Here is some other facts about our family that can be taken into consideration:

--Family of 4
--We travel a lot on weekends
--We are very active (hiking, biking etc...)

Thanks in advance, and feel free to ask more questions if it helps.

neo von retorch

• Magnum Stache
    • Fi@retorch - personal finance tracking
Re: Case Study - Car Help
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2014, 01:18:30 PM »
Hondas hold their value relatively well. Do you know what you own on it, and what others are paying (private party) for similar vehicles (age, trim/options)? Try to find "your car" on cars.com, vehix.com, etc and see what others are asking.

acroy

• Handlebar Stache
    • SWAMI
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2014, 01:45:38 PM »
best might be to keep the 2012 Pilot forever, sell the Ford.

Kudos on bike/scooter to work!

frugaliknowit

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2014, 01:46:36 PM »
Why do you think you need 2 cars?  Do you both work where it is required?  Is your wife not a SAHM?

tstache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2014, 02:15:26 PM »