Author Topic: Case study: Baby steps so I don't scare the hubby. (UPDATED 6/26/21)  (Read 27174 times)

startingsmall

• Pencil Stache
Originally posted in November 2014. See below for most recent update/progress!

Facepunch me gently, as I'm new to this whole MMM thing.  My husband comes from a decidedly non-Mustachian background (his family loves to shop, laments how broke they are on a regular basis, and never had productive conversations about finances while he was growing up).  My family tends towards the more Mustachian, but I've become kind of lax since we got married seven years ago.  Additionally, my husband just started his first full-time job after a lengthy period of grad school and unemployment, so we're making up for a period of lost income and also trying to simultaneously start some new habits.  Go easy on us, please!!

Monthly Income: = $9160/month
My monthly take-home pay:  $5585
Husband's monthly take-home pay: $1420
Reimbursements:  $2155  (husband's housing allowance, health insurance is reimbursed by both of our employers)

Current expenses: = $6810/mo
HOME EXPENSES = $1700/mo
mortgage -1275
electric - 275  (Crazy-high, I know, but we live in a big house!  Trying to work on it, but not sure how much we can reasonably do.)
internet/phone - 75 (Probably cutting home phone soon, esp. now that husband isn't home with our daughter all day.  I was hesitant
          before, because he's bad to let his cell battery die and I worried about what would happen in an emergency.)
trash - 20
Orkin - 45  (will be dropping this when our contract ends in a year, but we had a serious bee issue and were desperate.)
Netflix - 10   
OTHER EXPENSES = $5110/mo
cell phone    - 160  (Verizon.  <facepunch>  Tried to go with PagePlus or other low-cost plan last year, but my husband balked and so
        now we're stuck for another year. Hopefully I can convince him this next time.)