Author Topic: CASE STUDY: 51 yrs old and scared!!!  (Read 24931 times)

silver fox

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
CASE STUDY: 51 yrs old and scared!!!
« on: August 14, 2014, 12:09:53 PM »
I really feel like I’m falling off a cliff with no parachute. I hope someone will take the time to give me some advice. I have been reading MMM for aprox 2 months and I do believe I’ve read most of the posts. I was putting off doing a case study because I honestly don’t have a handle on my monthly expenses. Aug. 1st I joined “Mint” and hope to have a handle on our monthly expenses soon!
A little background. I’m 51 and Hubby is 57. Married, kids all grown. 3 dogs and 7 chickens (for the eggs). I’m a nurse and H is disabled on SSI. We live aprox. 1 mile outside of a small AZ town. (pop 2000) . We moved from Phoenix  9 years ago to “get away from it all” Can NOT bear the thought of moving back to a large city. I was commuting aprox 35 miles to the nearest hospital working as a respiratory therapist and decided to go to school to become an RN so I could get my dream job, here in town at the only medical facility (a dialysis clinic) which I did 2 years ago. Now my commute is 2.8 miles and I LOVE my job.
I now have aprox $12000. in credit card bills (SIGH)  and owe $19,472. in student loans. I think I made a HUGE mistake but as my H said “we made this bed now we lie in it”!!  We sat down the other day and I showed him what I really owe and I think he was a little shocked. I don’t even pretend to think I can EVER retire early I just want to have a plan so I don’t end up in bankruptcy. My goal is to pay off the house in 10 years and be debt free. We have 10.5 years left on mortgage, but sometimes I think we should refinance maybe?? To pay off some of these loans? We REALLY love where we live, on 2.5 acres with a beautiful view! I’m really not good with financial issues (as you can tell) and know I have some major “face-punching” coming. I can take it:)