Author Topic: Case study: 31 yo doctor, NW > $500K, what else can I do  (Read 3956 times)

Midwestache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Case study: 31 yo doctor, NW > $500K, what else can I do
« on: May 14, 2015, 10:08:39 AM »
This is my first post on any internet forum. I have been reading MMM for the last 4 months and found this site while reading white coat investor so I could educate myself about money and finances. I have been wanting to write a detailed post for the last few months but I wanted to gather enough information via Mint to do an adequate posting along with accurate numbers. I am married with one child, we live in the Midwest. We are both 31 years old. I work as a physician and graduated residency in June 2014. My wife works as a nurse and has been doing so for the past 9 years while I have been doing medical school and residency. We met in 2001 during college. Fast forward to now, I have been working in my current field as a staff doctor for the last ~10 months. At first when I got out of residency my wife and I were very excited I was done with schooling. We were ready to live an awesome life of pure spending pleasures including porsches, luxury items etc until I put the major brakes on after finding these sites. There was some major hemorrhaging of money early.

Salary and wages:
Monthly after tax take home pay: $15.2K + $1.3K month rent check = 16.5K
Bonuses depending on productivity, this will be paid at end of 2015: projected currently $84K post tax
1 rental property total income was $4153 minus $2953 expenses (painting, new stove) net: $1.2K ($1300 a month rent check)

Pretax deductions:
53K into pretax IRA (funding ~4.4 K per month)
11K backdoor roth fully funded for 2015
18K wife pretax retirement fund (funding 2 K per month)
4.5K for child 529 (funding $375 a month)

Current Expenses:
Mortgage: $3846    10 year ARM 3.125% 557K left on mortgage
Rental Mortgage: $661 5 year ARM current rate 2.75% 68K left on mortgage
Rental condo association fee: $268