Author Topic: Careers in TESOL  (Read 9000 times)

Rubyist

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Careers in TESOL
« on: December 07, 2015, 07:13:05 PM »
Wondering if anybody here has worked in TESOL, either short or long-term.

I've taught ESL for the past 4 years, since I graduated from college. I've worked exclusively at for-profit language schools in the US. I really enjoy the work, interacting with my students, and the easy hours, but I'm getting less satisfied with the low pay. So, it's time to explore my options.

I'm really curious to hear from anyone with experience in this field, especially within the US. Did you pursue a Master's degree in TESOL? Have you taught in a university or community college? Did you go into school management, or transition into a better-paying field?

Tom Bri

• Pencil Stache
  • More just cheap, than Mustachian
Re: Careers in TESOL
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2015, 07:49:36 PM »
Did it in Japan for 15 years. Not great, not bad. Easy work, but modest pay with limited upside unless you get into management. With a masters you can do university gigs which will pay more. It has been a while, but I think I never made more than about $40K, working for for-profit schools.

BigBangWeary

• Stubble
    • The Great Canadian Housing Bubble Co.
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2015, 02:22:03 AM »
Can't comment on the US situation, but without getting into specifics, I can attest to the possibility of earning $100,000 + USD a year tax free in the field plus perks, but you would need a Masters, and would have needed to get to the Gulf before the latest oil downturn.