Author Topic: Careers for people who enjoy 'hands on' work  (Read 2179 times)

Vicster

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Careers for people who enjoy 'hands on' work
« on: November 20, 2018, 04:37:21 AM »
Hello

I've done a few DIY projects recently, very small, but they give me such enjoyment and satisfaction I am using it as a clue to a possible career route.

I'm 40 and done lots of desk jobs which I've hated.....I'd really like a more hands on career.

I have a degree in Law, but sadly no Physics A'levels or anything like that.  I used to be a web developer and did enjoy the problem solving technical side of that but didn't enjoy the sitting at a desk all day. 

Any engineering technician / trainee roles or jobs that people have experience in and enjoy?

I'm totally new to researching this area so would appreciate any advice, thoughts.

Thanks in advance

Maenad

• Pencil Stache
Re: Careers for people who enjoy 'hands on' work
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2018, 05:07:05 AM »
Check out the Entrepreneurship subforum here, see what people have as their "side gigs". You may be able to start one of those up and build up a customer base to the point that you can quit your desk job. Or you may find out that doing it as a job strips away the enjoyment*, and you find a great hobby that also nets you a little income!

Are there schools near you that teach the trades (hands-on jobs)? We have them in the US, and you can take intro classes on a number of topics to see if you're interested. There's also what's known as the "maker community", where people have communal workspaces for more expensive hobbies (requiring large expensive equipment), and you can take classes on some different options there. I'm guessing if you start Googling you can find online fora and some local groups.

*This is a real risk, which is why I'm recommending easing into it with a second job.

Jon Bon

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2018, 06:51:59 AM »
+1000 Second job.