Author Topic: Career Switch Ideas from Automotive Tech.  (Read 4722 times)

jamaha

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Career Switch Ideas from Automotive Tech.
« on: June 11, 2015, 09:00:20 PM »
Hi Mustachians!  I was hoping to get some advice.

Some background.  I work as an automotive technician  for a major chain of tire dealers/service centers.  I make $14.43/hr flat-rate, and lately have been averaging 45-52 hours a week during the 50 hours that I work, so roughly 35ish a year.  This changes all the time, but has been trending up.  I only have 2 ASE certs and have been with my company for less than two years, so there is some potential for pay raises/productivity gains, or a move up/inside to Service Manager/Tire Manager, etc.

My goal is to transition to a rural homestead/small farm business, hopefully within 5 to 7 years.  I already have 57 acres for this, about 30 miles from where I live.  I inherited part of the land, and financed the purchase of the rest from the other heirs.  I've got $49k left on that mortgage.  I have no college degree, but about 60 hours of credits from previous misadventures in higher ed.  I've optimized my spending/debts/retirement savings about as well as I can/am-willing-to for my income level, so I'm looking to make some more money.

Ideally I'd like something I can get into in a relatively short time-frame (within 3 years) where I can make more money and get to FI sooner and/or with a bigger cushion.  I don't hate my job, but it can be stressful, is pretty physically demanding, and on the bad days I definitely feel stuck, like I could be making more progress toward my goals elsewhere..  I'm feeling ready for a change, or at least to begin working towards one.