Author Topic: Career coaches - worth it?  (Read 5161 times)

ChairmanKaga

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Career coaches - worth it?
« on: August 17, 2016, 12:31:32 PM »
I'm tired of my work. My career. Just plain burned out. I've been here for 8 years and now make about $80k a year with GREAT benefits, so it's sort of the Golden Handcuffs. Even though I love this company and I know the work we do is important and meaningful, I find no enjoyment in MY work. I don't enjoy the vast majority of what I'm responsible for, and I don't feel I'm doing a great job as a result. I know what I do enjoy, and GREAT at, and would like to do, and I have a vague notion of what that title is, but it's essentially in a totally different field, although an area I do have quite a bit of practical experience in. I have 20 years experience as a sort of jack of all trades. 

I brought this up to a friend who suggested a career coach. I signed up with the coaching agency she suggested, which is from I can tell is the most reputable agency in the city, for a free 30-minute consultation. From what I can gather contracting their services ain't cheap, though. How not cheap, I don't know yet. They talk about "to find yourself in a fulfilling career, the cost is well worth the investment" on their website, though. Investment to me means $,$$$. I digress.

However I just feel completely stuck. Unmotivated. Often depressed. Not fulfilled. Tired. I need a career change. The thought of doing this same sort of work for another 10 years, let alone 25, just makes me... sad. I HAVE to do something. I think I'd be happier doing manual labor than what I do now.