Author Topic: Career Choice/Relocation  (Read 5048 times)

zilamonster

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Career Choice/Relocation
« on: May 24, 2017, 11:15:46 AM »
Hi Everyone,

I am at a bit of a crossroads. My girlfriend and I have been doing long distance for 10 months now after she took a great opportunity for her career in Souther California. I am currently in Arizona and have been looking to move out there if the right opportunity popped up in my industry however I think we are starting to get a bit burnt out on the long distance thing if something didn't happen soon. I recently received an offer for a remote position that would allow me to work from wherever.  This position would essentially be me starting up the performance engineering program at a smaller company working directly under the President/CEO.

The pay would be around 15K base salary increase from where I am at now 75k ->90k, but after considering benefits, around $9500 salary bump as they don't have things like 401k match, company HSA contributions, and dental. These are things that may come in the future though as the company is only 3 years old. After moving to CA, I would be coming out about even after factoring in higher state taxes and COL without taking into account my current employer's 401k match. After factoring those things in I would be making $4500 less per year than I am currently. Essentially taking on more work and making less. California would not be my first choice of place to live due to the COL and crazy amount of people. I also don't really care to going back to living in an apartment coming from a house, but I would have to there and feel like I would be missing out on the opportunity to buy a place of my own if I lived somewhere with a cheaper COL.