Poll

If you are in my shoes, which route would you take?

Web Developer
Accountant
mix of both
Too Long Didn't Read :)

Author Topic: Career change!? From Accountant to Web Developer  (Read 45308 times)

GreenHorn101

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Career change!? From Accountant to Web Developer
« on: January 07, 2015, 02:42:58 PM »
Hi Fellow Mustachian,

I am 24 years old and live in NYC. I have been working as a Staff Accountant at a Non-profit for 2 years. I have a master degree in Accounting and have recently obtain my CPA license. I am consider changing my career to become a Web developer.

A little bit of my story:
For the past 3 years of my life, I kept a single tracked mind toward becoming an Accountant. Why? For one reason or another: “the right thing to do”,  “Jobs Security”, “thats what all of my friends are doing”, etc…

The realization happened over the last few months. I found myself dreading about my career future. I can’t envision myself enjoy working as an Auditor, Corporate Accountant, Tax Accountant… I feel trapped. I don’t think I will like my job.

Looking for a way out, I evaluate myself and my interest. I would like to be working in a technical position. I enjoy tinkering with spreadsheet at work and do some simple coding in excel to make things more efficient. I remember back in College, I tried to learn programming but failed due to overwhelming amount of information and lack of direction. I remember the thought of majoring in computer science but gave up because of my less than stellar Math grades.

After many weeks of procrastination, I came upon something call Coding bootcamp. They boost taking students from nothing to Jr developer level in a short span of 13 weeks. My heart races of the possibility of becoming a Developer. Creating things and solving business problem through technology. It sounds incredible and lots of fun!

So here I am...

Developer/Programmer Route