Poll

If you are in my shoes, which route would you take?

Web Developer
Accountant
mix of both
Too Long Didn't Read :)

Author Topic: Career change!? From Accountant to Web Developer  (Read 45387 times)

Perseid13

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Career change!? From Accountant to Web Developer
« Reply #50 on: August 11, 2016, 07:07:19 PM »
Hi there,

First of all, thank you for coming back and posting an update and congratulations on your new job.

I am currently in the same situation you were in last year. I work as an auditor and I find what I do very unfulfilling. I live in CA and I'm interested in joining one of the bootcamps in SF, but I had few questions, hopefully you can shed some light:

Prior to joining a bootcamp, what was your level of expertise in programming? Did the bootcamp require you to have a minimum background? And did you have to quit your job in order to complete the bootcamp?

After completing the bootcamp, how long did it take you to find a job? What would you say helped you the most in landing a job?

What languages did you study on your own prior to joining a bootcamp? Did you complete any projects? Did you have a portfolio?

I am currently teaching myself HTML/CSS and will study JS next. Any recommendations in terms of what I need to do to prepare myself? Any websites you used?

From what I read, I'd have to quit my job in order to attend a bootcamp as they're very intensive. I am a female so I'm considering hackbright, although I'm not sure if the culture reflects the tech community culture. Also considering hack reactor and app academy. App academy offers an online pre-bootcamp for $2k and guarantees admission to at least one of the schools mentioned above in addition to few others, do you that would be worth it or should I stick with teaching myself?

Any help will be greatly appreciated!!

GreenHorn101

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #51 on: August 11, 2016, 11:08:27 PM »