Author Topic: Career and Money Advice for a SAHM  (Read 2806 times)

WestCoastSlowFI

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Career and Money Advice for a SAHM
« on: December 13, 2019, 09:02:39 AM »
Hello!

My husband and I have been pursuing a slow/lazy fat FI for a few years now. We are 36/38 and have two kids, 7 and 4. I have been a SAHM for the past four years, and I'm starting to think about what's next. 

I previously worked in business making around $75K per year. I could go back to a similar job, but it wasn't my passion and I'd like to try something new. I have an interest in speech therapy, but it would require about 3 years of additional schooling (pre-req's + masters) and cost $50k. It is not a highly paid field, so I just can't wrap my head around spending that much time and money for something that will barely pay for itself, especially since I'd ideally like to work part-time.

What would you suggest? Should I pursue the degree, knowing that it would be mostly for my own satisfaction and a little extra money over time, or should I do something more practical that may not be as fulfilling? Or perhaps you know of another flexible career related to kids/language/early literacy that doesn't require a masters? I am extremely fortunate that I don't necessarily have to go back to work, but I'd eventually like to in some capacity.

Some numbers for you...

-We are currently contributing $65K/year toward retirement and spend a little less than $100K per year in a HCOL area.
-Our current net worth is $1.4 million, with about $900K of that being investments.
-Assuming all goes well, we are on track to reach our conservative FI number of 3.5 million by the time we are 50 (assuming 7% ROR).

P.S. I know our spending is high, but even if I increased our contributions to a more aggressive $90K per year it appears it would only shave off a couple of years so it doesn't feel worth it to us at this time - but feel free to convince me otherwise, as I fully expect you will. ;) 

Maenad