Author Topic: Career Advice Needed: College, $$$, Skills, or Happiness  (Read 6730 times)

Wanna-Be-FI-Bri

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Career Advice Needed: College, $$$, Skills, or Happiness
« on: January 03, 2015, 11:52:50 AM »
Background:  In June 2013 I graduated from Oakland University, a regional University in southeastern Michigan, with a degree in Production & Operations Management and a concentration in Supply Chain Management.  Since my grades or athletic ability were never spectacular enough for much scholarship money, I worked full time three out of my five years to finance my entire education.  Never truly knowing what I wanted to do for a career I selected my college major because I felt like I would be able to obtain a relatively high paying position at a respectable company.  However, since I worked in local government (purchaser/buyer) for the last three years, which I have since discovered is looked down on by the private sector, I am afraid my ability to easily obtain a well-paying private sector position may be wearing off if I don’t go back to school (no SCM internships either).

Four major options exist and are presented below:

Options
[/b]

Attend Oakland University’s Information Technology Management Master’s Program

Positive: Close to home and familiar with the school/program

$24k total - less expensive

Negative: Most professionals recommend not earning undergraduate and graduate degree from same university

Attend Michigan State University’s Supply Chain Management Masters’ Program

Positive: Huge alumni network and a reputation for being the best SCM school in the nation

Negative: $50k total - more expensive. 1.5 hours away; I never had much of a college experience because I worked so much, maybe I could get that here?

Not pursue a master’s degree and continue to work for local government (dead end job); Earn certifications in lieu of degree, e.g., PMP from Project Management Institute