Author Topic: Career Advice for wannabe Mustachian grad  (Read 10076 times)

StarswirlTheMustached

• Bristles
Career Advice for wannabe Mustachian grad
« on: October 29, 2012, 11:05:10 AM »
Greetings, Mustachians.
I could use some career advice. Here's my history: I'm 24, male, in Ontario, Canada; I have a Bachelor of Science in Physics, a Masters of Science in Astronomy and Planetary Science, and a mini-mustache of ~$30k. Peach fuzz, really, but I'm quite proud of it since I have never held a 'real' job. I'd rather like to, though.
Trouble is, what the heck can I do? Engineering is out in this jurisdiction-- I'd need 4 years schooling to get the degree to join the guild. I can code my way out of a paper bag, barely, but I'd hate doing it and it's not in any language that would help me hold down a job (who uses R?) even if I wanted to.
What sort of careers would anyone suggest that would be a good jumping-off point to start working towards FI? I'd love to teach, but Ontario is currently massively oversupplied with new teachers, and I'm geographically constrained by my better half. The funding situation in this country makes it fairly pointless to try and continue with my PhD to teach at the university level, which used to be plan A, once-upon-a-time. Not a good path to FI, anyway. So with plans A and B shot down in flames by that dastardly reality, does anyone have any advice for me?
Thanks!

yomimono

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Career Advice for wannabe Mustachian grad
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2012, 11:15:22 AM »