Author Topic: Career Advice for a 30-something  (Read 7153 times)

jday

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Career Advice for a 30-something
« on: October 01, 2014, 07:49:31 PM »
Hi All,

So I am 34 years old. No debt, paid off car, a little money in the bank, and just renting. No investments or 401k or anything. I have my MBA and a general background in sales and management. Nothing too specialized.

In other words, practically just starting down the trail of "early retirement", although it wont be that early at this point.

The most I have ever made is 40k a year even with my MBA that I received while taking night classes. I actually wanted to get into IT but was convinced that an MBA would be better for me.

My question to all of you is what career option would be best for semi-early retirement. And is it worth it to go back to school. I am interested in engineering and computer science, but just not sure if it would be worth it.

Should I look to get some certifications, learn programming languages? Im looking at all options currently. Going the financial route (CFA, Series 6, 63, 7, etc.) or the IT route (Ruby, Python, SQL, etc.) I am also in the process of getting my real estate license and would even have the option of just saying screw the corporate world Im going into home remodeling like MMM currently does. Fix and flip houses, and do homes sales.

What is everyones thoughts? Thanks in advance!

Note: I posted this in a different forum but it seems its better posted here. Thanks!

mozar

• Magnum Stache
Re: Career Advice for a 30-something
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2014, 08:39:38 PM »
So do you have a job? What are your expenses and income?

Setters-r-Better

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2014, 05:54:16 AM »
Do you have any student loans from your previous degrees?  What is your undergrad degree?

jnc

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2014, 06:18:59 AM »