Author Topic: Career advice after a pretty big kick in the face.  (Read 7387 times)

Sand Dreamer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Career advice after a pretty big kick in the face.
« on: November 06, 2015, 06:07:56 PM »
I will attempt to make a long story short here and hit all the highlights.  I have been working with a government agency for a little over 3 years now.  During that time I have also been working on obtaining a second degree (they pay for it) with the plan of moving to a different division in the same department.  As luck would have it I had completed the required class load to transfer/apply for this job at the same time there were several people who retired.  I had been in contact with the hiring manager over the last 7-8 months and made them aware I was working on completing the second degree and they were very supportive and even made sure to send emails letting me know when the jobs were opening up.  I was granted and interview along with 9 others all of which were outside applicants.  The interview went very well all of my references were contacted about a week after the interview.  So I felt very good about my chances for landing the job.  Another week goes by, I received an email from the hiring manager asking me to come to her office, I of course assumed this was good news...well the news that was given to me was that her managers would not hire me away from the current division I work for, because they didn't want them to be short handed!  Not that I wasn't qualified or that someone was a better candidate simply that the directors for each division were very good friends and they did not want to cause them to be without someone in my position for a small period of time.   I was encouraged to reapply if another opening came around, which I asked frankly why I would bother if they have no intentions of hiring anyone from my division.  Of course there was no answer to this. What does one do?  I do not want to work in my current role as it is a starting poi