Author Topic: Career Advice  (Read 2336 times)

smisk

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Career Advice
« on: July 31, 2017, 06:07:17 PM »
I've gotten some good advice from this forum before, so I'm hoping you guys can help me out again.. I'm 25 and a bit at a loss for how I want my career to progress.. I've been at the same company since shortly after I graduated college, and work on military software. The people there are good and the job isn't too demanding, but I feel that I'm a bit underpaid and my company generally doesn't give great raises. I'm also in a support role which requires off-shifts more than I'd like, and I'm getting a bit bored of the work. Occasionally I get to do some development work which I enjoy a lot more, and I'd ultimately like to move my career in that direction.

I'm also not super thrilled with where I'm living. I'm in a suburb of DC and have lived here most of my life. I recently visited Portland, OR and fell in love with it, I often feel that I'd be happier living there even though I don't know anyone in the area. I've been kicking around the idea of quitting my job in March-April of next year, then taking a month to travel somewhere, and spending another month or so brushing up on programming so I can apply to dev jobs, and then moving to Portland to look for work. My 'stache is somewhere around $130k so I'm not too concerned about money, though obviously I don't want to burn through too much of my savings. Though sometimes this seems too risky to me, and I wonder what my parents would think. I also have a fear about moving to a new city.. My parents and friends are here (no wife or kid though) and I worry I won't be able to meet people if I move.