Author Topic: Career Advice  (Read 4903 times)

Accountant

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Career Advice
« on: March 05, 2016, 03:34:06 PM »
I am new to the site and forum and would appreciate any opinions on this situation. 

I'm a 42 year old accountant, wife and one child.  I own my home free and clear and have no debt with a pretty decent cash / 401k savings.  This was mainly due to my wife and i both making good salaries and not being extravagant.  We could have saved a lot more had we been true mustachians all these years. 

My career dilemma is this -- i've been a Corporate CPA type for the better part of 20 years.  I have had a number of jobs in that time and have seen it all -- mergers, acquisitions, terrible management, insolvency, etc.  In 2013, the company that i had been with for 7 years was purchased by a larger company.  At that point i left and went to a smaller company as the controller.  That was an awful fit for my skill set as the company was old and refused to change.  After two years, i took a job with a midsize company last May as a senior financial analyst.  It seemed like a great fit but has been a bad experience so far.  Without getting into all of the gory details i'm wondering if i am just burned out on the whole corporate paradigm.  i feel like a job hopper and really have no desire to look for another job doing the same thing again -- the past couple of years have taken all of my life and made me feel like crap and a job hopper to boot. 

I'm trying to figure out what is the right way to handle this.  I'm only 42 and have had some success and have done well with personal finances, but i feel like a failure.  Any perspective from this story would be appreciated.

Thank you.

marty998

• Walrus Stache
Re: Career Advice
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2016, 04:05:46 PM »
You say you've done well on the finances...

Consider contracting. 6 months on and 6 months off.