Author Topic: Career Advice  (Read 3792 times)

NextTime

• Pencil Stache
Career Advice
« on: September 15, 2015, 12:01:16 PM »
Hi all. Just looking for a little career advice and wanted to see what you all had to say.

I'm feel like I'm stuck in a rut and need some help (maybe a little push) to get out of it. I'm a business/systems analyst at the same company going on 10 years (with a brief year and a half hiatus). I'm making $80k which is above the norm for my area of the country (Topeka, Kansas). There is no advancement opportunities unless I can find another contract, of which there aren't any in the area. I also haven't advanced or learned any new skills in the field over the past 5 years.

My main problem is I hate my job (basically a highly paid software tester and support tech), but I love the money. My current skills will not translate to a job for the same amount of money and I would probably need to take a $10k - $15k pay cut for another job. That's a difficult thing for my ego and pocketbook to take. I guess in my mind it feels like I would be moving backward. I'll be 40 years-old in January. A lower paying job would also put a damper on my retirement savings.
The last 3 years my wife and I were finishing up our Master's Degrees, living only on my salary. I was able to pay cash (minus a little credit card debt which is almost paid off) so didn't take out any loans. She is now employed and making $40k. For 3 years my excuse for not moving on was to pay for these degrees, and now that excuse is gone.