Author Topic: Car situation  (Read 5756 times)

southernhippie

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Car situation
« on: August 07, 2014, 10:00:39 AM »
I am new to the mustache community and have slowly been trying to incorporate all the principles to my lifestyle.  I do need some advice on my current vehicle situation.

My wife and I both have two vehicles.  My wife has a 2011 Chevy Malibu (paid off).  I have a 2012 Nissan Titan 4wd (still owe $14,000, I am paying this off using the debt emergency principle).  Both of our jobs are less than 10 minute commute due to stop lights.  My wife loves her car and it can get 36 mpg hwy if driven right, but in the city about 25 mpg.  My truck averages ...........wait for it.......... 14 mpg in the city and about 18 mpg hwy. (Yes this does deserve a huge punch in the face).  Both of us maybe put 7500 miles on each vehicle a year and that is being generous.

I garden a lot and usually have to haul a lot of stuff seasonally for the garden in my truck bed.  It isn't often but it does occur.  I also really like my truck.  My question is this.  Would I be better off to sell the truck now even though I have payments still? Which I could get at least 20,000 trade in value.  Private property will be of course more.  After selling get a hatchback/wagon/etc with better mileage?  Even though I drive very little.  I do like the capability of hauling things around and I would like for my son's car seat to fit well in whatever I have.

My wife doesn't want me to sell the truck because she thinks I wont be satisfied with anything else since I like my truck so much.  I know there will probably be a suggestion about biking to work.  But the road I take to work is not biking friendly with lots of blind curves and lots of accidents occur on it.  Including the one last year where a drunk driver hit me head on, on my way home from work.  So I am little weary about taking that road on a bike.

I appreciate any answers or advice given.

southernhippie