Author Topic: Car Repair and Decision Woes!!  (Read 4883 times)

TickInTime

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Car Repair and Decision Woes!!
« on: October 30, 2013, 06:47:07 PM »
The quick and short story is this:

Due to improper maintance I broke a timing belt, causing my interference engine (1996 SOHC Dodge Neon) sudden death.

I bought a replacement engine for $300 and timing belt parts ($100). The engine was the wrong year a 1999. The junkyard claimed it was compatible, it is but it isn't.

The question is this:  To get this engine working in my car I would need a minimum of a 1999 ECU and wiring harness; approximately $3-400.  I have been biking to work everyday since Jan 21 2013.  If I scrap the car I will only get about $250; possibly more if I part it out.

Any recommendations on how I should proceed?  Attempt to stay the course and fix??  Call it dead and be finished with it??

Also, I am locked into a progressive policy with a nice 35% discount for life due to non-use and a Snapshot Discount. If I cancel I save $345/6 months, but loose the discount.

FunkyStickman

• Pencil Stache
    • Living Outside the Box
Re: Car Repair and Decision Woes!!
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2013, 06:49:49 AM »
How much would it cost you to rent a car for the few times you'd need one? Compare that to the cost of repairing a car you rarely use, and see if it's worth it.

Very simple, just do the math. You can:
1. fix car, but will still need work down the road
2. scrap/sell car and rent one when needed; keep insurance
3. scrap car and rent one; use car rental insurance

This will totally depend on how often you need the car, and how much time and effort you are willing to put into it. If it were me, I'd scrap the car, and I'm capable of fixing it... I just wouldn't want to be bothered with it.

TickInTime

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2013, 08:32:29 AM »
I guess I will be parting the car out and scrapping the rest.