Author Topic: Car maintenance question - '99 Camry manual transmission issue  (Read 7435 times)

wannabfrugal

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Car maintenance question - '99 Camry manual transmission issue
« on: September 17, 2013, 07:05:27 AM »
I have a '99 Camry V6 3000 Four Cam 24 Manual Transmission

I am having issues with not being able to shift out of first gear if my RPMs are over approximately 2k.  It feels like it is stuck and grinding if I try to shift above 2k RPMS.  If I let the RPM's drop back below 2k it will shift or if I shift out of first before my RPM's get above 2k, it will shift clean. 

I have no problem shifting in and out of any other gear at any RPM. 

For now it is a liveable problem, but I'm looking for help on diagnosing my problem and if it's an indicator of a bigger problem coming.

I readily admit I'm a car novice and am hoping someone has some insights (and hopefully it's something I can try to repair myself! :) )

Thanks in advance!

Left

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Car maintenance question - '99 Camry manual transmission issue
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2013, 07:22:58 AM »
don't qoute me on this, but it might be the reverse gear. I can't place why my instinct is saying that considering I don't drive a manual... but if all other gears work, and it is a problem getting out of first gear only, there's a reverse gear there as well

schimt

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2013, 08:07:36 AM »