Author Topic: Car Maintenance..  (Read 4839 times)

hope2retire

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Car Maintenance..
« on: November 01, 2015, 01:01:13 PM »
Took the 2012 Honda Accord (~22k miles on it) car for routine oil change to the dealer. The following was recommended.

Air Filter - $45
Cabin Filter - $89
AC Disinfectant $89
Brake Fluid Flush $155
Rot.Alignment $100

Wondering what can be taken care of by myself or any other inexpensive options to accomplish these. Complicated ones i will take it to the dealer (the last two as i see it now).

Thanks
h2r

turketron

• Pencil Stache
Re: Car Maintenance..
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2015, 01:07:37 PM »
Air filters are stupid easy to replace yourself and cost about $10 each on Amazon. There are plenty of videos showing exactly what to do on Youtube, like so: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p98p7efKFGw

I have no experience with the other maintenance so I won't comment on those.

Dee18

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2015, 02:05:02 PM »
I know nothing about cars and had no trouble changing my air filter and cabin filter.  The cabin filter was so easy I felt like starting a class action for fraud that Honda charges anything for it.  Truly, it's easier than putting in gas. I think the cabin filter cost $12. I think the NPR car guys, Click and Clack, said the AC disinfectant was a scam. As far as the brake fluid flush, check your owners manual to see when Honda recommends it. My Mechanic told me to replace the brake fluid every 3 years, or about every 30,000 miles so it sounds early for that.  Best thing to do is find a non-dealer mechanic you can trust.  I actually found mine on the Click and Clack website.

Spork

• Walrus Stache
    • Spork In The Eye
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2015, 02:07:27 PM »