Author Topic: Car insurance when you don't own a car, but plan to rent occasionally  (Read 5497 times)

synonym

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hi All,

I wonder if anyone else that doesn't own a car, but rents one occasionally has a good way to keep insurance costs down. The few times i've rented it has ended up costing a lot more because of the extra insurance that the rental companies like to gouge.

I'm new to the US, so i'm not sure what's the best way to cover this. Do credit cards offer enough cover? Should i get some kind of general liability insurance (and could it cover renters insurance too?)

There is a Zip Car outlet fairly close by and they seem to include insurance in their comparatively low charges. The closest renter though is Budget, and there it seems to cost maybe $25/day on top of the rental price.

Thanks

dudde_devaru

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
If you can get a cheap/free zipcar membership, its the way to go only for short-term rentals.

Also you can check RelayRides.com. if interested PM me, I will refer (both win-win :)).
But RelayRides need at least 1yr US driving history. I have rented many two days rentals for under $90 including premium protection.

For long term, traditional can rental companies are worth.
You can decline their Collision Damage and purchase that outside using Allianz for example who offer insurance based on the term of rental rather than per day basis. I think its around $9/day.

Alternatively, you can also use your credit card insurance. Many cards have secondary coverage which means the coverage will kick in after your primary insurance is charged in case of an event. Since, you don't have a primary car insurance I guess you will be covered fully by default. This is something your credit card company will be able to answer.

Dicey

• Senior Mustachian