Author Topic: Can this new *job away from home* work long term?  (Read 2458 times)

soulrider

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Can this new *job away from home* work long term?
« on: May 24, 2019, 08:03:31 AM »
Hello mustachians,

I am here looking for some advice!

I work in health care and have recently quit my job due to feelings of burnout, too many hours, no vacation time, and feeling like I was taken advantage of financially. I have become an independent contractor and have been working short term gigs (one week each) in different cities that need my help (sort of like travel nursing). Pay is much better (nearly twice as my previous hourly rate) which will allow me to cut down the number of days I work per month.

On my old job I worked approximately 18-20 days per month and now am working 14 days per month with plans to cut down to 7 days per month in 2020.

A little background info:

Both my wife and I are in our early to mid 30s. Currently I am the main bread winner for our family. We are going through IVF and fertility treatments to try to increase our family.

The main disadvantage of my current work situation is that I have to travel for work. I have chosen to work 2 weeks a month in 2019 to help us pay for IVF but I intend to drop it to 7 days a month in 2020 - and when I account for travel time, I will be away from home 9 days a month.

For those of you with spouses and little kids at home - do you think this is something that can potentially work long term? Would you be able to be away from your kid for 9 days a month if it meant you could be with them, free of any other responsibility, for the other 21 days?

Cassie

• Walrus Stache
Re: Can this new *job away from home* work long term?
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2019, 02:12:17 PM »
Absolutely it’s doable. Military people are gone much longer.

mm1970

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2019, 04:22:30 PM »