Author Topic: Can I retire?  (Read 9511 times)

KristiW

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Can I retire?
« on: September 25, 2013, 07:35:38 PM »
Hello Everyone,

I would love advice about retiring early from some Mustachians.  I am a public school teacher and make $63,000 year.  At the end of this school year I will be 56 and that is when I would like to finish my teaching career. My house is worth around $350,000 and is paid off, yearly taxes and insurance of $4,000. A smaller house would be better, but for now this one suits me because I garden, raise chickens, and wool sheep. My family lives nearby and my house is one of the least expensive in the area, so difficult to downsize and keep the same lifestyle.  Also, I have no debt. Drive a 2009 Mini and a beach cruiser (bike). Also, own a couple of assets worth around $50,000 that I can sell when needed.

I am a widow and have one child left at home, who is in high school. Social Security pays $18,000 a year for her care until she graduates. That will be when I am 59.  At 60, I may take 71% of my husband’s Social Security and my teaching pension, which adds up to $20,000. The man who is buying my late husband’s guitar shop pays me $6,000 a year and owes $58,000, but this is tenuous due to the economy and new competition.

I have $200,000 in Vanguard’s Balanced Index Funds, recent acquisition. I’ve been listening MMM! By the end of this school year there will be $200,000 in my credit union earning 2% interest.

I believe that I will need between $30-35,000 a year because I have a weakness for travel, good wine, and farm animals. ;)

I shudder as I write this, because I love my parents so much, but at some point I will inherit quite a bit from them.

OK, there are so many I’s in this piece that it makes me blush!!

Thanks for your help,

Confused Cowgirl

RootofGood

• Handlebar Stache
  • Retired at age 33. 5 years in, still loving it!
    • Root of Good
Re: Can I retire?
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2013, 07:52:51 PM »