Author Topic: Can I really bike to work (44 miles round trip) in NE Ohio?  (Read 17950 times)

Midcenturymater

• Stubble
Re: Can I really bike to work (44 miles round trip) in NE Ohio?
« Reply #50 on: January 09, 2016, 03:05:30 AM »
Ok
.so I used to do 12 Mike's through London traffic and in snow and ice.

I was a student so the $10 saving on transport each day was motivating.

I got very fit very quickly.

I got lots of complements for being hardy enough to do it.
It took 50 mins
I could not drive and did not have a car for 6 of my 10 years in London so no choice in it

However looking back
 I had at least three scares in 6 months of doing it. Not my fault but I could have been killed.
I was so hot Nd sweaty at the other end. ....no showers. That caused me discomfort.
I was so tired when I got home I would fall asleep at 9 pm.
I got a bit of dread on cold days visually imagining the 12 miles to come to be at college for 3 hours...so sometimes I skipped college.
I felt threatened more than once by males on the off road bits and having no clue cell, that could have been sticky.
Would I want my 28 year old kid to ever do it.
No
It wasn't worth it in terms of the risks I took.

Just drive your prius.

GuitarStv

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #51 on: January 09, 2016, 06:41:52 AM »
My best tip for winter riding - Pitzips. I can't even imagine wearing a winter or spring coat now that doesn't let me vent the underarms. After that, layers, and alternate gear that you can access easily. Monday I had an hour ride at 12° F, and I had the armpit vents of my coat fully unzipped, and had to unzip the front of the coat some. I was wearing a headband and hat, and my helmet has a liner. I had to stop and remove the hat halfway to work because I was too warm. And I had multiple gloves with me; when the thick ones got sweaty I was able to grab lighter ones and swap out.