Author Topic: can i do this?  (Read 4941 times)

rich

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
can i do this?
« on: March 27, 2016, 09:56:30 AM »
hello all.  I'm new here and i'm not sure this is the right place to post this question so please advise if this is not.

Anyway here goes.  I get the feeling many of you have heard this before.  But.

i will be turning 50 this year... no kids, went thru a divorce in 2002 etc... have a SO now, not married.

i've been an engineer since 1994.  Old school mechanical engineer that works at a factory (if you've ever seen one of those that isn't boarded up)

long story short, i've hated my job since day one... my passion was always music (guitar - i know the instrument of my generation i suppose)

i'd like to give this engineering job the old heave ho... can't stand the work, the hours and commute make a 40 hour a week job more like 60 and it's having very negative affects on my health.  I'm drinking more than i ever have, my mood is very negative and at times lately somewhat aggressive combined with depression.

i feel the job is sucking the life out of me.  i'm now trying to disassociate from my job while there to try and lessen the affects it has on me.

i've considered this.

i have 157k cash in 2 bank accounts, plus about another 90k between 2 401k's.  One the company 401 and the other a personal IRA.

i have inherited a home from my parents, no mortgage, just taxes ~ approx 10,000/year

and have a car i bought in 2014 with a monthly payment of $274.00/month.

If someone can please advise, can i take the leap and get the hell off the corporate rat race...

i would like to teach guitar, possible start some kind of small service business

any advice would be welcome

thank you for your time

GrowingTheGreen

• Bristles
    • Growing The Green
Re: can i do this?
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2016, 10:10:49 AM »