Author Topic: Can I afford to live alone  (Read 2332 times)

patch45

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Can I afford to live alone
« on: April 02, 2018, 09:59:40 PM »
I currently live in Denver with 3 roomates. Rent + utilities is $600, which is incredibly cheap for the area. I'm very close to work and to a grocery store, so I do all intra-city travel on bike.

I'm getting a little sick of the people I live with though, I just found them on Craigslist and am about ready to move out. I want to not worry about having people over, about my girlfriend or I taking too much time in the shower, about playing guitar loudly at night.

I would be interested in living with friends, but all of the friends I've made out here seem pretty happy with their living situations. I've put out feelers but not counting on anything on that front.

It seems like a studio in a neighborhood I would want to live in runs anywhere from $750-1000/mo. For what it's worth, I'm 25, this is my first time living on my own outside of college, my SR has been around 78%-80% on a 90k salary, and I'll be getting a raise to 96k this month. Is it silly to give up this great deal on rent, or have you all had good experiences moving out on your own?

joonifloofeefloo

• Magnum Stache
  • On a forum break :)
Re: Can I afford to live alone
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2018, 11:30:41 PM »
With those numbers, it sounds a-okay for you to get your own place.

I've loved living with some past roommates, and also love living alone. I lean toward the latter, though sometimes think I'd enjoy a bit of chitchat with a roomie again. So, sometimes a bit is lost with solo living, but for some of us, much more is gained :)

Sounds like there's nothing particularly valuable about the current relationships, so you could live solo for a while and join some other roommates in future, too.

jeroly

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2018, 01:08:09 AM »