Author Topic: Can anyone give me advice on a work conflict?  (Read 7272 times)

Schpeet

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Can anyone give me advice on a work conflict?
« on: October 04, 2014, 04:41:09 AM »
I'd appreciate some advice on this!

I work in construction management, and generally am 2nd in charge on projects working under a project manager  Typical value $15-30M.

I was asked to work in a different city for a few months.  Typical arrangement for management staff working away is additional pay, flight home every weekend, accommodation.  I've worked away for around 12 months in the last 18 months, so am familiar with the what normally happens.  On this particular project, since I grew up and lived in the away city until recently I told them I was happy so skip the weekly flights.

Anyway, I discussed with the project manager (PM) for them to send several options for accommodation to me and I'd pick which one I liked.  Didn't happen - they just booked a tiny studio unit (cheap, and the 3 other staff in the office that are living away all have better accommodation).  There are a number of issues - the layout of the unit itself is poor and doesn't work well, no oven, kitchen is very poorly equipped, washer/dryer has already ruined several loads of my clothes through dye running.  I've brought up the issues a couple of times and provided alternate options which have been dismissed.  They have sorted out the utensils and are apparently getting an oven installed but there has been no progress on this.  I got sick of this and sent the PM an email basically saying the unit is unacceptable accommodation, I'll provide an alternative and work will need to arrange to move me in there.  The PM has refused and told me if I don't like the accommodation then go back to my original city.