Author Topic: Can't see a way out of driving so much....any suggestions  (Read 1444 times)

vartz04

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Can't see a way out of driving so much....any suggestions
« on: January 03, 2021, 05:01:37 AM »
I'm a Project Manager for a construction company. I have jobsites all over the northern third of Illinois. My office is 30 mins/30 miles from my Rural Subdivision with low property taxes (about 4500 less than a home near my office) but...The office doesn't matter as I am rarely there (especially this year working from home so much....which I intend to do as long as possible).

I need to be on these jobsites a couple of times a week. I drive a midsized pickup that is paid for via auto allowance and a fuel card is provided. Personal trips (outside of family vacations) utilize the company fuel. My car payment (stupid but working on getting out of it) and insurance are about 25% less than the allowance.

I have had a lot of stress over all of the driving and miles though . I'll burn through a new car ever 7 or 8 years at the most and a lightly used one every 4-6. About 2 years ago I drove 35k miles in the one year. I have come up with some plans to reduce that in 2021 but does anyone else have any ideas. The truck/SUV thing is part of the stipulation for the allowance as you need to be able to drive off the road on some of these jobsites.

Morning Glory

• Magnum Stache
Re: Can't see a way out of driving so much....any suggestions
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2021, 06:19:09 AM »
It sounds like driving is part of your job. Count the driving time as work time and figure your wage accordingly, a la Your Money or Your Life.

Can you make it more pleasant by listening to ebooks, podcasts, etc? If it's still stressing you out too much you could look for other work.

ender

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2021, 06:21:43 AM »
What problem do you want to solve here?

It sounds like there's no financial issue, given the company stipend.