Author Topic: Can't get my expenses down enough!  (Read 4959 times)

a.true

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Can't get my expenses down enough!
« on: April 15, 2015, 04:48:51 PM »
Newbie here.

I've gone over and over our budget, and I can't get our expenses any lower than 45K. We have a mortgage, we have a little credit card debt (yes I'm paying it off as fast as possible!) and then utilities and food and just basic living. Our problem is that our income after taxes is barely above our expenses, so we can't pound away at the debt the way we need to.

This blog sounds great- it really does- heck, I've been using a lot of these principles for a long time, simply out of necessity. Our grocery bill for 3 people is under $150 every week, we don't eat out, we don't buy stuff, we don't see movies, we don't take vacations (time away from work, can't afford it) we only ever buy used cars when we need to and buy Honda when we do so we can drive them for over a decade. We live too far away from things to bike to the store, etc. As of this week we both work from home, so there will be almost no driving. We live in a small house (1400 sq feet), we don't have tv- haven't for a decade- but we need internet/cell phones for work, and for mine I need a data plan, for work. I don't shop for clothes unless our daughter grows out of hers. We reuse, we recycle, all this stuff, and we have been for years now. It's a little frustrating to read this blog, he makes it sound so easy when it's just not realistic for some of us who never made enough money to put anything away or kill the debt- and before someone asks, the cc debt was a huge tax bill from years ago (when we were young and stupid and didn't know how to do them), medical bills (from having our daughter- we didn't understand how much was NOT covered by my insurance) and some big car emergencies from years ago.