Author Topic: Camping Long Johns?  (Read 2448 times)

RunningintoFI

• Stubble
  • Paid to optimize. Love not to.
Camping Long Johns?
« on: October 24, 2018, 08:33:17 PM »
Slightly odd question for the group.  I am doing a month-long camping trip across New Zealand in December. 

It has been recommended to me to get a nice pair of long underwear to keep warm through the nights in a tent.  I have seen some suggestions surrounding polypropylene pants versus the typical thermal polyester pants and I have limited experience with long-term camping apparel for colder weather.  Do any fellow mustachians have advice for what might be a good pair of quality thermal attire that can be used to keep warm throughout the night while also being light enough for ease of travel? 

Thanks in advance!

Papa bear

• Handlebar Stache
Camping Long Johns?
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2018, 09:16:20 PM »
For me for other cold weather sports, merino wool is my go to base layer.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

rdaneel0

• Pencil Stache
Re: Camping Long Johns?
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2018, 09:32:20 PM »
I like Avalanche brand but I'm a petite lady so YMMV.

GuitarBrian

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2018, 10:52:36 PM »
I've liked my Under Armor Base 2.0. they keep me warm in the tent at night and hunting during the day, also light weight.

The negitive is after 10-12 hours wearing the shirt, it fatigues the hair on my arms. It is a weird feeling, and generally I'll take it off for a few hours/rest of the day. The pants don't affect me as much.

They are lightweight and I've used them many, many times since I bought them in 2013. I recommend them, but I think there are other products out there that work as well.

Have fun on your trip!

Radagast

• Magnum Stache
  • One Does Not Simply Work Into Mordor
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2018, 11:15:03 PM »