Author Topic: Calling any amature or professional photographers for advice  (Read 10640 times)

Skinnyneo

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • Tsumashiku Kurashii - Living Frugally in Japan
Calling any amature or professional photographers for advice
« on: February 24, 2012, 12:03:39 AM »
I work at a school in Japan.  One of the big cultural points about school in Japan is every student joins a club.  There are of course sports clubs, but also art, tea ceremony, and calligraphy clubs.  I am a beginner photographer meaning I'm interested but know next to nothing.  Some students approached me about starting a photography club and I  think it's a great idea.  I wanted to ask anybody in the MMM community who is a photographer or into photography (cuz I like you guys and your helpful!) how did you learn about photography and get better at it?  Are there any simple books beginner books you would recommend that teach you about the basic functions of cameras and what the basic features are? 

(I realize this is some what off the normal MMM thread topic but I'll add that I think photography could be a very FI friendly hobby if you take care of your equipment and use it for years and years.  Maybe even turn into a side business!)

Sparafusile

• Bristles
Re: Calling any amature or professional photographers for advice
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2012, 05:20:50 AM »
The first part of learning photography is learning how the camera works. The two most important things to know are f-stop and shutter speed. A quick search turned up this short explanation:

http://www.photonhead.com/beginners/shutterandaperture.php